Press Release


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                 CONTACT: JOHN BALDON
August 27, 2015                                                               (805) 497-5837
Photo Attached                                                        






New West Symphony music director Marcelo Lehninger and executive director Natalia Staneva have announced the launch of the 2015/2016 Masterpiece Series Season.  The 2015/2016 Masterpiece Series comprises a series of six concerts, each presented three times.  Performances take place on Friday evenings at the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, Saturday evenings at the Bank of America Performing Arts Center at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza and Thursday evenings and Sunday afternoons at Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  Oxnard and Thousand Oaks performances begin at 8:00 pm, Barnum Hall performances begin at 4:00 or 7:30 pm.

Commenting on the new season, maestro Marcelo Lehninger said, "I am really proud of our upcoming 2015/16 season. I am sure that it will bring you as much joy to listen to the pieces as for me to conduct them. As you visit a sophisticated fashion boutique, you will certainly find something you like. We will continue to bring into each program something new, paired with traditional, beloved and well-known pieces. You will experience New West Symphony debut guest artists, new pieces of music and also the most powerful standard repertoire in symphonic music. Since I like to consider the New West Symphony as an extended family, I am inviting my father as a soloist to celebrate this family affair. For the first time ever, we will be sharing the stage. I am sure you will feel the emotion of this important moment of my life. I hope to see you at all of our concerts this season. I cannot wait to conduct these incredible pieces of music and share my passion of good music together with you.

"This season represents the high artistic level that the New West Symphony has achieved and the continued effort to grow this exceptional organization. I look forward to working with our wonderful musicians and bringing this season of new sounds to our steadfast supporters and reaching out to increase our audience."

Highlights of the 2015/2016 Masterpiece Series Season include the world premieres of New West Symphony commissioned work by composer Adam Schoenberg and the West Coast premiere of a new percussion concerto by Stewart Copeland. The Symphony will also present ten works new to its repertoire including Manuel de Falla's Suite from the Three Cornered Hat, Max Bruch's Scottish Fantasy for Violin &Orchestra, Maurice Ravel's Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloé and Felix Mendelssohn's Hebrides Overture.

Six guest artists will make their New West Symphony debuts including Grammy Award –winning guitarist Jason Vieaux, violinist Erich Lehninger, pianists Denis Kozhukhin and Ko-Eun Yi, drummer Stewart Copeland and New West Symphony principal clarinet Josh Ranz  Returning guest artists include cellist Andrew Janss and New West Symphony principals; oboist Lara Wickes, bassoonist Duncan Massey and horn player James Thatcher.

Full biographies and hi-res images of the guest artists are available on request.

Subscription packages, priced from $112 to $556, are available online through the Symphony's secure web site at or by calling the Symphony ticket office at 1-866-776-8400 between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.  Tickets for individual concerts, priced from $29 to $102, are also available.

About the New West Symphony:  Founded in 1995, the New West Symphony is a professional orchestra that draws its players from the rich talent pool of professional Los Angeles-area musicians. Led by music director Marcelo Lehninger, the Symphony is the resident company of the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, and Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  It presents six Masterpiece Series concerts annually, performing major works from the symphonic repertoire with internationally-acclaimed artists as guest soloists.  The Symphony also provides quality outreach and educational opportunities for the communities it serves through its annual Symphonic Adventures concert programs for youth, its traveling Music Van, and its New West Symphony Harmony Project of Ventura County, a year-round music and leadership program for underserved students.

New West Symphony
2015/2016 Masterpiece Series

Six Friday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm ~ Oxnard Performing Arts Center
Six Saturday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm ~ Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
Six Sunday Afternoons ~ 4:00 pm ~ Barnum Hall, Santa Monica


Thursday, October 1, 2015
Friday, October 2, 2015
Saturday, October 3, 2015

New World
Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Jason Vieaux, guitar*

Falla      Suite No. 1 from The Three Cornered Hat
Rodrigo      Concierto de Aranjuez for Guitar & Orchestra
Dvořák        Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Opus 95 "From the New World"

Friday, November 6, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015
Sunday, November 8, 2015

Scottish Fantasy
Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Erich Lehninger, violin*

Mendelssohn      The Hebrides Overture, Opus 26 "Fingal's Cave" †
Bruch      Scottish Fantasy, Opus 46†
Mendelssohn      Symphony No. 3 in A Minor, Opus 56 "Scottish"

Friday, January 22, 2016
Saturday, January 23, 2016
Sunday, January 24, 2016

Gershwin & Ravel
Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Denis Kozhukhin, piano*

Gershwin      Porgy & Bess, A Symphonic Picture
Ravel      Piano Concerto in G
Gershwin      An American in Paris
Ravel      Suite No.2 from Daphnis et Chloé

Friday, February 26, 2016
Saturday, February 27, 2016**
Sunday, February 28, 2016

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Andrew Janss, cello

Mozart      Overture to Il re pastore, K. 208†
Haydn      Concerto No.1in C Major for Cello & Orchestra†
Beethoven      Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Opus 60

Thursday, March 31, 2016
Friday, April 1, 2016
Saturday, April 2, 2016

Tchaikovsky Fourth
Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Ko-Eun Yi, piano*

dam Schoenberg      New West Symphony Commission World Premiere†
Chopin      Concerto No. 1 in E Minor for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 11
Tchaikovsky      Symphony No.4 in F Minor, Opus 36

Thursday, May 12, 2016
Friday, May 13, 2016
Saturday, May 14, 2016

The Symphony Rocks
Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Lara Wickes, oboe
Josh Ranz, clarinet*
Duncan Massey, bassoon
James Thatcher, horn
Stewart Copeland, percussion*

Barber      Overture to The School for Scandal
Mozart      Sinfonia concertante for Winds†
Stewart Copeland      Percussion Concerto No. 1"The Tyrant's Crush" (West Coast Premiere)†

*New West Symphony Debut Artist
†First New West Symphony Performance
**Performances take place at Agoura Performing Arts Education Center at 4:00 & 8:00 pm.
All dates, artists and programs subject to change.