Press Release


September 4, 2014                                        (805) 497-5837




New West Symphony music director Marcelo Lehninger and executive director Natalia Staneva have announced the launch of the 2014/2015 Masterpiece Series Season.  The 2014/2015 Masterpiece Series comprises a series of six concerts, each presented three times.  Performances take place on Friday evenings at the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, Saturday evenings at the Bank of America Performing Arts Center at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza and Sunday afternoons at Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  Friday and Saturday performances begin at 8:00 pm, Sunday performances begin at 4:00 pm.

Commenting on the new season, maestro Marcelo Lehninger said, "I am very excited to present our season of Breaking New Sound.  For our 20th anniversary we have created unique programs for each Masterpiece Series concert that will showcase a major work that we have never performed.  For this special season we will continue the important work of commissioning new pieces by Los Angeles area composers and will present world premieres of new works by American composers Adam Schoenberg and Mike Garson.  Seven internationally-acclaimed guest artists, will be making their New West Symphony debuts, including renowned cellist Lynn Harrell.

"This season represents the high artistic level that the New West Symphony has achieved and the continued effort to grow this exceptional organization. I look forward to working with our wonderful musicians and bringing this season of new sounds to our steadfast supporters and reaching out to increase our audience."

Executive director Natalia Staneva said about the coming season, "When the Civic Arts Plaza broke ground in Thousand Oaks in 1995, the Ventura County Symphony and the Conejo Symphony merged to become the New West Symphony, a professional orchestra that now performs in three different venues presenting programs to the diverse metropolitan communities of Los Angeles.  Today, under the artistic leadership of Marcelo Lehninger, we have expanded our programs to include new commissions, new guest artists and new concert experiences. Marcelo's recent Helen M. Thompson Award for Emerging Music Director presented by the League of American orchestras in June is a well-deserved honor and a testament to our artistic growth, innovation and deeper community engagement. As we celebrate our 20th Anniversary, we will honor the past, break new ground and plant an artistic seed for the future, and showcase our virtuosity today."

Highlights of the 2014/2015 Masterpiece Series Season include the world premieres of New West Symphony commissioned works by composers Adam Schoenberg and Mike Garson. The Symphony will also present seven works new to its repertoire including Antonin Dvořák's B Minor Cello Concerto, Sergei Rachmaninov's Second Symphony and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Great Mass in C Minor.

Seven guest artists will make their New West Symphony debuts including cellist Lynn Harrell, pianist Gabriela Montero, New West Symphony principal violist Lauren Chipman, violinist Jennifer Frautschi, soprano Indra Thomas, tenor Matthew Plenk and bass Jordan Bisch.  Returning guest artists include Van Cliburn International Piano Completion winner Sean Chen, soprano Jessica Rivera and mezzo-soprano Rebecca Ringle.

Full biographies and hi-res images of the guest artists are available on request.

Subscription packages, priced from $112 to $556, are available online through the Symphony's secure web site at or by calling the Symphony ticket office at 1-866-776-8400 between 9:00 am and 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday.  Tickets for individual concerts, priced from $29 to $102, are also available.

About the New West Symphony:  Founded in 1995, the New West Symphony is a professional orchestra that draws its players from the rich talent pool of professional Los Angeles-area musicians. Led by music director Marcelo Lehninger, the Symphony is the resident company of the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, and Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  It presents six Masterpiece Series concerts annually, performing major works from the symphonic repertoire with internationally-acclaimed artists as guest soloists.  The Symphony also provides quality outreach and educational opportunities for the communities it serves through its annual Symphonic Adventures concert programs for youth, its traveling Music Van, and its New West Symphony Harmony Project of Ventura County, a year-round music and leadership program for underserved students.

New West Symphony
2014/2015 Masterpiece Series
20th Anniversary Season

Six Friday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm ~ Oxnard Performing Arts Center
Six Saturday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm ~ Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
Six Sunday Afternoons ~ 4:00 pm ~ Barnum Hall, Santa Monica

Friday, October 17, 2014
Saturday, October 18, 2014
Sunday, October 19, 2014s

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Gabriela Montero, piano*
Indra Thomas, soprano*

Corigliano     Promenade Overture
Grieg      Concerto in A Minor for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 16
Villa-Lobos      Bachianas brasileiras No.5†
Bernstein      Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Friday, November 7, 2014
Saturday, November 8, 2014
Sunday, November 9, 2014

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Lynn Harrell, cello*

Dvořák      Concerto in B Minor for Cello & Orchestra, Opus 104†
Brahms      Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Opus73

Friday, January 23, 2015
Saturday, January 24, 2015
Sunday, January 25, 2015

Boris Brott, conductor
Lauren Chipman, viola*

Rossini      Overture to William Tell
Garson      Viola Jazz Variations on a Theme of Paganini
New West Symphony Commission World Premiere†
Tchaikovsky      Capriccio italien, Opus 45† 
Respighi      Pines of Rome

Friday, February 27, 2015
Saturday, February 28, 2015
Sunday, March 1, 2015

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Sean Chen, piano

Stravinsky      Suite No. 2 for Small Orchestra†     
Saint-Saëns      Concerto No. 2 in G Minor for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 22
Rachmaninov      Symphony No. 2 in E Minor, Opus 27†

Friday, March 27, 2015
Saturday, March 28, 2015
Sunday, March 29, 2015

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Jennifer Frautschi, violin*

Sibelius      Concerto in D Minor for Violin & Orchestra, Opus 47†
Holst      The Planets

Friday, May 8, 2015
Saturday, May 9, 2015
Sunday, May 10, 2015

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Jessica Rivera, soprano
Rebecca Ringle, mezzo-soprano
Matthew Plenk, tenor*
Jordan Bisch, bass*
Los Robles Master Chorale, Lesley Leighton, director

Zobelein 20th Annerversary Fanfare
Mozart      Great Mass in C Minor, K. 427†                                                      

*New West Symphony Debut Artist
†Denotes first performance by the New West Symphony
All dates, artists and programs subject to change.