Press Release


February 16, 2016 (805) 497-5837
Photo Attached



New West Symphony music director Marcelo Lehninger will lead the orchestra in a Masterpiece Series concert featuring the music of Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven.   Cellist Andrew Janss returns to the orchestra to  perform Franz Joseph Haydn’s Concerto No. 1 in C Major for Cello & Orchestra. The program also includes Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Overture to Il re pastore, K. 208 and the Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Opus 60 of Ludwig van Beethoven. Mr. Janss last appeared with the Orchestra during the 2011/2012 season.
The first performance will take place on Friday, February 26, 2016 at 8:00 pm at the Oxnard Performing Arts Center located at 800 Hobson Way in Oxnard. The program will be repeated on *Saturday, February 27 at 4:00 and 8:00 pm at the Performing Arts Education Center on the campus of Agoura High School, located at 28545 W Driver Avenue in Agoura Hills and on  Sunday, February 28, 2016 at Barnum Hall in Santa Monica located at 600 Olympic Boulevard in Santa Monica.

Tickets:  Tickets priced from $29 to $102 are available by phone, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday at 1-866-776-8400.  Tickets are also available in person at the New West Symphony office, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday and through the Symphony web site at, 24/7.   Tickets are also available at the respective concert hall box offices.
Hear & Now Live:  These lively and informative, 30-minute pre-concert discussions about the music on the program begin one hour prior to the performances.  The programs are free and open to ticket holders for the respective performances.

About the Soloist
Andrew Janss, a native of Thousand Oaks, California, began his studies there at the age of ten with cellist Andrew Cook. He continued his studies at the Manhattan School of Music where he studied with David Geber, principal cellist of the New York Philharmonic.  He pursued chamber music studies with David Soyer, founding cellist of the Guarneri Quartet. Andrew Janss was also a founding member of the esteemed Escher Quartet.
For a complete biography, Click Here

About the Music
For a visit to Salzburg in 1775 by Archduke Maximilian Franz, Archbishop Hieronymus Colloredo of Salzburg ordered Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart to write an opera based on the libretto of Pietro Metastasio’s Il Rè Pastore. Mozart quickly finished the work, adding the overture at the last minute. It had its premiere on April 23, 1775.

Franz Joseph Haydn composed the C Major Cello Concerto in the early part of the 1760’s for his friend Joseph Franz Weigl who, like Haydn, was a member of the Esterházy court musical establishment. The work disappeared shortly after the first performance and was thought lost.  After the Second World War, the Czech National Library confiscated all of the great private collections in the country and scholars began the monumental task of cataloging the mountains of manuscripts.  It wasn’t until 1961 that the great Haydn scholar H.C. Robbins Landon discovered a complete set of parts for the Concerto near the bottom of a pile of manuscripts in the library’s collection.

Ludwig van Beethoven spent part of the summer of 1806 in Silesia at the summer castle of Prince Lichnowsky who introduced him to moneyed aristocrat, Count Franz von Oppersdorf. Oppersdorf was an admirer of Beethoven’s music and commissioned him to write a new symphony.  Beethoven was already well along on the Fifth Symphony but put it aside to work on the new symphony. Most of the work on the B-flat Symphony was completed during September and October 1806 at Lichnowsky’s castle.   For complete program notes, Click Here.

About the New West Symphony:  Founded in 1995, the New West Symphony is a professional orchestra that draws its players from the rich talent pool of professional Los Angeles-area musicians. Led by music director Marcelo Lehninger, the Symphony is the resident company of the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, and Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  It presents six Masterpiece Series concerts annually, performing major works from the symphonic repertoire with internationally-acclaimed artists as guest soloists.  The Symphony also provides quality outreach and educational opportunities for the communities it serves through its annual Symphonic Adventures concert programs for youth, its traveling Music Van, and its New West Symphony Harmony Project of Ventura County, a year-round, tuition–free music and leadership program for underserved students.

New West Symphony
2015/2016 Masterpiece Series Concert No. 4

Friday, February 26, 2016  8:00 pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center
800 Hobson Way, Oxnard

Saturday, February 27, 2016  4:00 pm and 8:00 pm
Performing Arts Education Center on the Campus of Agoura High School
28545 W Driver Avenue, Agoura Hills

Sunday, February 28, 2016  4:00 pm
Barnum Hall, Santa Monica
600 Olympic Boulevard, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Andrew Janss. cello

Mozart Overture to Il re pastore
Haydn Concerto No. 1 in C Major for Cello & Orchestra
Beethoven Symphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Opus 60