Press Release


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                 CONTACT: JOHN BALDON
October 28, 2014                                                             (805) 497-5837
Photo Attached                                                      



Internationally-renowned cellist Lynn Harrell will make his New West Symphony debut on the second Masterpiece Series concert of the Symphony's 20th Anniversary season playing Antonin Dvořák's Concerto in B Minor for Cello and Orchestra, Opus 104. This concert will mark the first performance of the Concerto by the New West Symphony in keeping with the season-long theme of Breaking New Sound.  Music director Marcelo Lehninger will lead the orchestra in a program that also includes the Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Opus 73 by Johannes Brahms.

The first performance will take place on Friday, November 7, 2014 at 8:00 pm at the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, located at 800 Hobson Way in Oxnard.  The program will be repeated on Saturday, November 8, 2014 at 8:00 pm at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, located at 2100 Thousand Oaks Boulevard in Thousand Oaks and on Sunday, November 9, 2014 at 4:00 pm at Santa Monica's Barnum Hall, located at 601 Pico Boulevard in Santa Monica.

Tickets:  Tickets priced from $29 to $102 are available by phone, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday at 1-866-776-8400.  Tickets are also available in person at the New West Symphony office, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday and through the Symphony web site at, 24/7.   Tickets are also available at the respective concert hall box offices.

 Hear & Now Live:  This lively and informative, pre-concert discussion about the music on the program begins at 7:00 pm on Friday and Saturday evenings and 3:00 pm on Sunday afternoon.  The programs are free and open to ticket holders for the respective performances.

About the Soloists
Lynn Harrell's presence is felt throughout the musical world. A consummate soloist, chamber musician, recitalist, conductor and teacher, his work throughout the Americas, Europe and Asia has placed him in the highest echelon of today's performing artists. Mr. Harrell is a frequent guest of many leading orchestras including Boston, Chicago, New York, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Ottawa, Pittsburgh, and the National Symphony. In Europe he partners with the orchestras of London, Munich, Berlin, Dresden, Leipzig, Tonhalle, and Israel.
For a complete biography, Click Here

About the Music
Antonin Dvořák composed his cello concerto between 1894 and 1895 while he was teaching and composing in New York City.  During his time in New York, he also composed the "New World" Symphony and the Opus 96 Quartet (American).  The Concerto was the last work he composed in New York before returning to his home in Bohemia. It received its premiere on March 19, 1896 in London with Dvořák conducting.

 Johannes Brahms composed his second symphony in the summer of 1877 while visiting the village of Pörtschach in the Carinthian hills of southern Austria. Compared to the First Symphony, which took him 15 years to complete, the Second was done in a matter of a few months.  It received its premiere on December 30, 1877 in Vienna. The Second is a sunny and melodic work that some have described as "pastoral."
For complete program notes, Click Here.

 About the New West Symphony:  Founded in 1995, the New West Symphony is a professional orchestra that draws its players from the rich talent pool of professional Los Angeles-area musicians. Led by music director Marcelo Lehninger, the Symphony is the resident company of the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, and Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  It presents six Masterpiece Series concerts annually, performing major works from the symphonic repertoire with internationally-acclaimed artists as guest soloists.  The Symphony also provides quality outreach and educational opportunities for the communities it serves through its annual Symphonic Adventures concert programs for youth, its traveling Music Van, and its New West Symphony Harmony Project of Ventura County, an after–school, tuition–free music and leadership program for underserved students.

New West Symphony
2014/2015 Masterpiece Series Concert No. 2
Friday, November 7, 2014  8:00 pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center
800 Hobson Way, Oxnard
Saturday, November 8, 2014  8:00 pm
Bank of America Performing Arts Center at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
2100 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Thousand Oaks
Sunday, November 9, 2014 4:00 pm
Barnum Hall, Santa Monica
601 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Lynn Harrell, cello

Dvořák Concerto in B Minor for Cello & Orchestra, Opus 104
Brahms Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Opus73