Print this page

Press Release


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                 CONTACT: JOHN BALDON
April 10, 2014                                                                  (805) 497-5837
Photo Attached                                                      



New West Symphony Commissioned Work by Russell Steinberg
to Receive World Premiere

The New West Symphony's final concert of the 2013/2014 Masterpiece Series Season willfeature Ludwig van Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Opus 67.  Music director Marcelo Lehninger will share the stage with his mother, Brazilian pianist Sonia Goulart, who is making her New West Symphony debut with three performances of the Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Minor for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 21 by Frédéric Chopin.  The concert will also include the world premiere of Cosmic Dust by Russell Steinberg, written on a commission from the New West Symphony.  Select members of the Conejo Valley Youth Orchestra will join the New West Symphony in a side-by-side performance of the work.

The first performance will take place on Friday, April 25, 2014 at 8:00 pm at the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, located at 800 Hobson Way in Oxnard.  The program will be repeated on Saturday, April 26, 2014 at 8:00 pm at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, located at 2100 Thousand Oaks Boulevard in Thousand Oaks and on Sunday, April 27,  2014 at 4:00 pm at Santa Monica's Barnum Hall, located at 601 Pico Boulevard in Santa Monica.

Tickets:  Tickets priced from $25 to $98 are available by phone, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday at 1-866-776-8400.  Tickets are also available in person at the New West Symphony office, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday and through the Symphony web site at, 24/7.   Tickets are also available at the respective concert hall box offices.

Hear & Now Live:  This lively and informative, pre-concert discussion about the music on the program begins at 7:00 pm on Friday and Saturday evenings and 3:00 pm on Sunday afternoon.  The programs are free and open to ticket holders for the respective performances.

About the Soloist

Pianist Sonia Goulart is regarded as one of Brazil's greatest current artists. She has been awarded more than thirty national and international prizes, including the 1st TV Award in Frankfurt, Germany; the Rencontres Musicales Internationales Award in Brussels, Belgium; and the International Ferrucio Busoni Contest Prize in Bolzano, Italy. Born in Salvador, State of Bahia, she began her studies in Rio de Janeiro, with Arlete Thedim Costa, and subsequently attended the National School of Music under the guidance of Elzira Amabile, where she graduated with a Gold Medal. For a complete biography, Click Here

About the Music
Los Angeles composer and educator Russell Steinberg composed Cosmic Dust on a commission from the New West Symphony for a special initiative between the New West Symphony and the Conejo Valley Youth Orchestra. The single movement work, comprising four continuous sections — Magic Sky, Shooting Stars, Interstellar Dust, and Nova — uses various orchestral techniques to portray the wonder experienced by children stargazing as they look up at the night sky.

Frédéric Chopin was 19 and in the throes of unrequited love when he wrote the Second Piano Concerto in 1829.  The concerto had its first performance in March of 1830 in Warsaw with Chopin, in his Warsaw debut, as soloist.  The concerto and Chopin were both a great success and the Concerto remains a favorite work in the repertoire to this day.  Unfortunately for Chopin, his pursuit of love was less successful.

Ludwig van Beethoven's Fifth Symphony is one of the most familiar and popular works in all classical music. Its first four notes are unquestionably the most famous four notes ever written. The Symphony was composed between 1804 and 1808, a time of intense creative activity for Beethoven.  During those four years he also composed the Piano Sonatas, Opus 53, 54 and 57; the Fourth Piano Concerto; the Fourth and Sixth Symphonies; the Violin Concerto; the first two versions of Fidelio; the Rasumovsky Quartets, Opus 59; Coriolan Overture; the Mass in C major, Opus 86; and the Cello Sonata No. 3, Opus 69.

For complete program notes, Click Here.

About the New West Symphony:  Founded in 1995, the New West Symphony is a professional orchestra that draws its players from the rich talent pool of professional Los Angeles-area musicians. Led by music director Marcelo Lehninger, the Symphony is the resident company of the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, and Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  It presents six Masterpiece Series concerts annually, performing major works from the symphonic repertoire with internationally-acclaimed artists as guest soloists.  The Symphony also provides quality outreach and educational opportunities for the communities it serves through its annual Symphonic Adventures concert programs for youth, its traveling Music Van, and its partnership with New West Symphony Harmony Project of Ventura County, a year-round music and leadership program for underserved students.

New West Symphony
2013/2014 Masterpiece Series Concert No. 6

Friday, April 25, 2014  8:00 pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center
800 Hobson Way, Oxnard

Saturday, April 26, 2014  8:00 pm
Bank of America Performing Arts Center at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
2100 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, April 27, 2014  4:00 pm
Barnum Hall, Santa Monica
601 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Sonia Goulart, piano

Steinberg Cosmic Dust
Chopin Concerto No. 2 in F Minor for Piano & Orchestra,
  Opus 21
Beethoven Symphony No 5 in C Minor, Opus 67