Press Release


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                CONTACT: JOHN BALDON
October 22, 2013                                                             (805) 497-5837
Photos Attached                                                     



Concert to include music of Mozart and Haydn

Pianist Andrew von Oeyen returns to the New West Symphony to perform two concertos on the second Masterpiece Series concert of the 2013/2014 season.  Mr. von Oeyen, who last appeared with the orchestra in the 2010 season, will play Franz Joseph Haydn's Concerto in D Major for Piano & Orchestra, Hob. XVIII:11 and Sergei Prokofiev's Piano Concerto No. 4 in B-flat Major for Piano Left Hand, Opus 53. Music director Marcelo Lehninger will lead three performances of the program that also includes Prokofiev's Classical Symphony, Opus 25 and the Symphony No. 35 in D Major, K. 385, "Haffner" by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

The first performance will take place on Friday, November 1, 2013 at 8:00 pm at the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, located at 800 Hobson Way in Oxnard.  The program will be repeated on Saturday, November 2, 2013 at 8:00 pm at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, located at 2100 Thousand Oaks Boulevard in Thousand Oaks and on Sunday, November 3, 2013 at 4:00 pm at Santa Monica's Barnum Hall, located at 601 Pico Boulevard in Santa Monica.

The concert is sponsored by Thrivent Financial.

Tickets:  Tickets priced from $25 to $98 are available by phone, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday at 1-866-776-8400.  Tickets are also available in person at the New West Symphony office, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday through Friday and through the Symphony web site at, 24/7.   Tickets are also available at the respective concert hall box offices.

Hear & Now Live:  This lively and informative, pre-concert discussion about the music on the program begins at 7:00 pm on Friday and Saturday evenings and 3:00 pm on Sunday afternoon.  The programs are free and open to ticket holders for the respective performances. 

Andrew von Oeyen was born in Malibu, California in 1979 and began piano lessons at age five. He made his solo orchestra debut at age ten and at age sixteen made his debut with Esa-Pekka Solonen and the Los Angeles Philharmonic.  Mr. von Oeyen performs regularly with major orchestras in performances around the world.  In addition to his orchestral appearances, he tours extensively as a recitalist and appears frequently in duo recitals with violinist Sarah Chang.   For a full biography of Andrew von Oeyen, please Click Here

Sergei Prokofiev was heavily influenced by Haydn when he composed his Classical Symphony. Using the same four-movement form customary in a Haydn symphony, he applied his usual touches of wit and subtle jokes that would have pleased Haydn.  Prokofiev composed the work in the summer of 1917 without the use of a piano, relying on his in-depth study of Haydn's techniques during his studies with Alexander Tcherepnin.

Franz Joseph Haydn composed the D Major Concerto while he was employed by the Esterházy family.  The exact date of the composition is not known but it was probably written in the 1770's or early 1780's.  In all likelihood, Haydn wrote the work for his own use in one of the frequent concerts presented by the Esterházys.

Sergei Prokofiev wrote his Piano Concerto No. 4 for Left Hand in 1931on commission from the pianist Paul Wittgenstein, who had lost his right arm in World War I.  Wittgenstein never performed the work and it was not performed until 1956 when Siegried Rapp, who had also lost his right arm in combat, played the Concerto in Berlin.

In early 1783, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart was preparing music for an upcoming concert and needed a new symphony for the occasion. He settled on reworking an earlier serenade that he had written for Salzburg Burgomaster Siegmund Haffner.  Mozart discarded several of the original serenade's movements and added flutes and clarinets to the scoring.  The result was the four-movement "Haffner" Symphony.  For complete program notes please Click Here.

About the New West Symphony:  Founded in 1995, the New West Symphony is a professional orchestra that draws its players from the rich talent pool of professional Los Angeles-area musicians. Led by music director Marcelo Lehninger, the Symphony is the resident company of the Oxnard Performing Arts Center, the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, and Barnum Hall in Santa Monica.  It presents six Masterpiece Series concerts annually, performing major works from the symphonic repertoire with internationally-acclaimed artists as guest soloists.  The Symphony also provides quality outreach and educational opportunities for the communities it serves through its annual Symphonic Adventures concert programs for youth, its traveling Music Van, and its partnership with New West Symphony Harmony Project of Ventura County, a year-round music and leadership program for underserved students.

New West Symphony
2013/2014 Masterpiece Series Concert No. 2
Friday, November 1, 2013  8:00 pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center
800 Hobson Way, Oxnard
Saturday, November 2, 2013  8:00 pm
Bank of America Performing Arts Center at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
2100 Thousand Oaks Boulevard, Thousand Oaks
Sunday, November 3, 2013  4:00 pm
Barnum Hall, Santa Monica
601 Pico Boulevard, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor
Andrew von Oeyen, piano

Prokofiev Classical Symphony
Haydn Concerto in D Major for Piano & Orchestra, Hob. XVIII:11
Prokofiev Concerto No. 4 in D Major for Piano Left Hand & Orchestra, Opus 53
Mozart Symphony No. 35 in D Major, K. 385, "Haffner"