Masterpiece Series

Marcelo Lehninger

Friday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center

Saturday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm
Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza

Sunday Afternoons ~ 4:00 pm
Barnum Hall, Santa Monica

2014 Season

Season Opener with Sarah Chang

Sarah Chang

Friday, Oct 4, 2013, Oxnard

Saturday, Oct 5, 2013, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Oct 6, 2013, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Sarah Chang, violin*

BeethovenOverture to Egmont
BruchViolin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Opus 26
GershwinCuban Overture
PiazzollaTwo Tangos
GinasteraFour Dances from Estancia

Program Notes

Concert sponsored by Micheline & Albert Sakharoff

Classical Symphony

Andrew von Oeyen

Friday, Nov 1, 2013, Oxnard

Saturday, Nov 2, 2013, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Nov 3, 2013, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Andrew von Oeyen, piano

ProkofievClassical Symphony, Opus 25
HaydnConcerto in D Major for Piano & Orchestra, Hob. XVIII:11
ProkofievConcerto No. 4 in B-flat Major for Piano (lefthand) & Orchestra, Opus 53
MozartSymphony No. 35 in D Major, K.385, "Haffner"

Program Notes

Concert sponsored by Thrivent Financial

Bolero

Danielle Belen

Friday, Jan 24, 2014, Oxnard

Saturday, Jan 25, 2014, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Jan 26, 2014, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Danielle Belen, violin

DukasL'apprenti Sorcier (The Sorcerer's Appprentice)
RavelTzigane for Violin & Orchestra
Saint-SaënsIntroduction & Rondo capriccioso for Violin & Orchestra
Saint-SaënsSymphony No. 2 in A Minor, Opus 55
RavelBolero

Program Notes

Pictures at an Exhibition

Cristina Ortiz

Friday, Feb 21, 2014, Oxnard

Saturday, Feb 22, 2014, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Feb 23, 2014, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Cristina Ortiz, piano*

RavelMa Mere l'Oye (Mother Goose Suite)
Villa-LobosMomoprecoce
Mussorgsky/RavelPictures at an Exhibition

Program Notes

Verdi Requiem

New West Symphony Chorus & Los Robles Master Chorale, Lesley Leighton

Friday, Mar 21, 2014, Oxnard

Saturday, Mar 22, 2014, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Mar 23, 2014, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Lesley Leighton, soprano*

Rebecca Ringle, mezzo-soprano*

Casey Candebat, tenor

Raymond Aceto, bass*

New West Symphony Chorus & Los Robles Master Chorale, Lesley Leighton, director

VerdiMessa da Requiem

Program Notes

This concert presented without intermission. Duration is 90 minutes.

Beethoven Fifth

Conejo Valley Youth Orchestra, Bill Benson

Friday, Apr 25, 2014, Oxnard

Saturday, Apr 26, 2014, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Apr 27, 2014, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Sonia Goulart, piano*

Conejo Valley Youth Orchestra, Bill Benson, conductor

SteinbergCosmic Dust
New West Symphony Commission (World Premiere)**
ChopinConcerto No. 2 in F Minor for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 21
BeethovenSymphony No. 5 in C Minor, Opus 67

Program Notes

Concert sposored by the Ventura County Star

Sonia Goulart's appearance sponsored by the Mary Ann & Bill Bang Famly Fund

*New West Symphony Debut Artists
All dates, programs, guest artists subject to change.