Masterpiece Series

Marcelo Lehninger

Friday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm
Oxnard Performing Arts Center

Saturday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm
Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza

Sunday Afternoons ~ 4:00 pm
Barnum Hall, Santa Monica

2015 Season

20th Anniversary Season Opener

Indra Thomas

Friday, Oct 17, 2014, Oxnard

Saturday, Oct 18, 2014, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Oct 19, 2014, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger,

Gabriela Montero, piano*

Indra Thomas, soprano*

CoriglianoPromenade Overture
GriegConcerto in A Minor for Piano & Orchestra, Opus 16
Villa-LobosBachianas brasileiras No. 5
BernsteinSymphonic Dances from West Side Story

Program Notes

Gabriela Montero's appearance generously underwritten by a gift from Karen & Paul Finkel.

Lynn Harrell Plays Dvorak

Lynn Harrell

Friday, Nov 7, 2014, Oxnard

Saturday, Nov 8, 2014, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Nov 9, 2014, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Lynn Harrell, cello*

DvorakConcerto in B Minor for Cello & Orchestra, Opus 104
BrahmsSymphony No. 2 in D Major, Opus 73

Program Notes

Lynn Harrell's appearance partially underwritten by a generous gift from Larry Janss.

Pines of Rome

Lauren Chipman

Friday, Jan 23, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, Jan 24, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Jan 25, 2015, Santa Monica

Boris Brott, conductor

Lauren Chipman, viola*

RossiniOverture to William Tell
GarsonGarson Concerto for Viola, Jazz Trio and Orchestra Based on a Theme by Paganini
  New West Symphony Commission World Premiere
TchaikovskyCapriccio italien, Opus 45
RespighiPines of Rome

Program Notes

Rachmaninov

Sean Chen

Friday, Feb 27, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, Feb 28, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Mar 1, 2015, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Sean Chen, piano

StravinskySuite No. 2 for Small Orchestra
Saint-SaënsConcerto No. 2 in G Minor for Piano & Orchestra,
  Opus 22
RachmaninovSymphony No. 2 in E Minor, Opus 27

Program Notes

Sean Chen's appearance generously underwritten by a gift from
Nancy Israel.

The Planets

Women of the Cal Lutheran University Choral Ensembles,<br>  Wyant Morton

Friday, Mar 27, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, Mar 28, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Mar 29, 2015, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Jennifer Frautschi, violin*

Women of the Cal Lutheran University Choral Ensembles,
Wyant Morton
, director

SibeliusConcerto in D Minor for Violin & Orchestra, Opus 47
HolstThe Planets

Program Notes

Jennifer Frautschi's appearance generously underwritten by a gift from Doug & Penny Yarrow.

Mozart Great Mass

Los Robles Master Chorale, Lesley Leighton

Friday, May 8, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, May 9, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, May 10, 2015, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Jessica Rivera, soprano

Rebecca Ringle, mezzo-soprano

Matthew Plenk, tenor*

Andrew Craig Brown, bass-baritone*

Los Robles Master Chorale, Lesley Leighton, artistic director

ZobeleinNew West Fanfare
MozartGreat Mass in C Minor, K.427

Program Notes

This concert presented without intermission. Late comers will not be seated during the performance. Duration approximately 65 minutes.

2016 Season

New World

Jason Vieaux

Friday, Oct 2, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, Oct 3, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Oct 4, 2015, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Jason Vieaux, guitar*

FallaSuite No. 1 from The Three Cornered Hat
RodrigoConcierto de Aranjuez for Guitar & Orchestra
DvorakSymphony No. 9 in E Minor, Opus 95 "From the New World"

Program Notes

Scottish Fantasy

Erich Lehninger

Friday, Nov 6, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, Nov 7, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Nov 8, 2015, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Erich Lehninger, violin*

MendelssohnThe Hebrides Overture, Opus 26 "Fingal's Cave"
BruchScottish Fantasy, Opus 46
MendelssohnSymphony No. 3 in A Minor, Opus 56 "Scottish"

Program Notes

Gershwin & Ravel

Denis Kozhukhin

Friday, Jan 22, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Denis Kozhukhin, piano*

GershwinPorgy & Bess, A Symphonic Picture
RavelPiano Concerto in G
GershwinAn American in Paris
RavelSuite No. 2 from Daphis et Chloe

Program Notes

Classics

Andrew Janss

Friday, Feb 26, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Feb 27, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Feb 28, 2016, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Andrew Janss, cello

MozartOverture to Il re pastore, K. 208
HaydnConcerto No. 1 in C Major for Cello & Orchestra
BeethovenSymphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Opus 60

Program Notes

Tchaikovsky Fourth

Ko-Eun Yi

Friday, Apr 1, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Apr 2, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Apr 3, 2016, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Ko-Eun Yi, piano*

SchoenbergNew West Symphony Commission World Premiere
ChopinConcerto No. 1 in E Minor for Piano & Orchestra,
Opus 11
TchaikovskySymphony No. 4 in F Minor, Opus 36

Program Notes

First Performances

Stewart Copeland

Friday, May 13, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, May 14, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, May 15, 2016, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Stewart Copeland, drummer*

BarberOverture to The Schhool for Scandal
MozartSinfonia concertante for Winds
CopelandPercussion Concerto No. 1 "The Tyrant's Crush"
West Coast Premiere

Program Notes

*New West Symphony Debut Artists
All dates, programs, guest artists subject to change.