Masterpiece Series

Marcelo Lehninger

Oxnard Performing Arts Center
Friday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm

Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza
Saturday Evenings ~ 8:00 pm

Barnum Hall, Santa Monica
Sunday Afternoons ~ 4:00 pm
Thursday Evenings ~ 7:30 pm

2016 Season

New World

Jason Vieaux

Thursday, Oct 1, 2015, Santa Monica

Friday, Oct 2, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, Oct 3, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Jason Vieaux, guitar*

FallaSuite No. 1 from The Three Cornered Hat**
RodrigoConcierto de Aranjuez for Guitar & Orchestra
DvorakSymphony No. 9 in E Minor, Opus 95 "From the New World"

Program Notes

Scottish Fantasy

Jim Richardson

Friday, Nov 6, 2015, Oxnard

Saturday, Nov 7, 2015, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Nov 8, 2015, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Caroline Goulding, violin*

Jim Richardson, photojournalist

MendelssohnThe Hebrides Overture, Opus 26 "Fingal's Cave"**
MendelssohnConcerto in E Minor for Violin & Orchestra, Opus 64
MendelssohnSymphony No. 3 in A Minor, Opus 56 "Scottish"

Program Notes

Gershwin & Ravel

California Lutheran University Choral Ensembles,<br>  Wyant Morton

Friday, Jan 22, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Jan 23, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Jan 24, 2016, Santa Monica

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Denis Kozhukhin, piano*

California Lutheran University Choral Ensembles,
Wyant Morton
, director

GershwinPorgy & Bess, A Symphonic Picture
RavelPiano Concerto in G
GershwinAn American in Paris
RavelSuite No. 2 from Daphis et Chloe**

Program Notes


Andrew Janss

Friday, Feb 26, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Feb 27, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Sunday, Feb 28, 2016, Santa Monica

Saturday, Feb 27, 2016, Agoura Hills

Saturday, Feb 27, 2016, Agoura Hills

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Andrew Janss, cello

MozartOverture to Il re pastore, K. 208**
HaydnConcerto No. 1 in C Major for Cello & Orchestra**
BeethovenSymphony No. 4 in B-flat Major, Opus 60

Program Notes

Tchaikovsky Fourth

Ko-Eun Yi

Thursday, Mar 31, 2016, Santa Monica

Friday, Apr 1, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, Apr 2, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Ko-Eun Yi, piano*

New West Symphony Commission World Premiere**
ChopinConcerto No. 1 in E Minor for Piano & Orchestra,
Opus 11
TchaikovskySymphony No. 4 in F Minor, Opus 36

Program Notes

The Symphony Rocks

James Thatcher

Thursday, May 12, 2016, Santa Monica

Friday, May 13, 2016, Oxnard

Saturday, May 14, 2016, Thousand Oaks

Marcelo Lehninger, conductor

Stewart Copeland, drummer*

Lara Wickes, oboe

Joshua Ranz, clarinet*

Duncan Massey, bassoon

James Thatcher, horn

BarberOverture to The School for Scandal**
MozartSinfonia concertante in E-flat Major
for Four Winds, K. 297b**
CopelandPercussion Concerto No. 1 "The Tyrant's Crush"
West Coast Premiere**

Program Notes

*New West Symphony Debut Artists
**First New West Symphony Performance
All dates, programs, guest artists subject to change.